Due to the compulsory nature of Massachusetts automobile insurance and the method by which the state may set insurance premiums, Massachusetts has also established a Safe Driver Insurance Program (SDIP) that allows insurance companies to issue surcharges or discounts based on your driving record.
Any time you are involved in a “surchargeable event” (i.e., you are presumed to be at-fault for causing an automobile accident) you receive points on your driving record, which affect both your license status and your insurance premiums. However, you may get a safe driver discount on your premium by maintaining a good driving record for a period of 5 years, or you may also be eligible for a point reduction by maintaining a clean driving record for a period of 3 years.
Remember, if you have been the victim of an automobile accident and have been presumed to be at fault you should consult with an experienced lawyer who knows how to rebut the insurance company’s allegation that you were at fault for the accident. If you have received a surcharge notice, or, if you believe you have improperly been found at-fault for an accident you may be able to demonstrate that you were not at-fault and/or you may be able to defeat the surcharge through an appeals process.
As soon as you received notice of a surcharge, you should consult with an experienced attorney. At Diller Law, P.C. we have experience defeating surcharge allegations and will provide you with a free consultation for your claim.